Back to All Events

Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology Award of Excellence - Nominations Close

Nominations open for the ASVO Awards for Excellence

The 4th annual Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology’s (ASVO) Awards for Excellence have been officially launched, with The ASVO today calling for nominations for the prestigious awards.

Since their inception, The ASVO Awards for Excellence has attracted a high calibre of entrants from throughout the country and is now recognized within the industry as being a leading accomplishment for wine industry professionals to aspire to and achieve.

Open to viticulturists and winemakers in Australia the awards aims to promote excellence through the recognition and reward the achievers of the wine industry those involved in innovative practice; those who are striving to raise practice standards; and individuals who, through their professionalism, provide a model of practice which others strive to emulate.

A new scholarship sponsored by Seguin Moreau’s has been added to the annual Awards for Excellence. The scholarship will enable talented individuals to attend the Advanced Wine Assessment Course run by the Australian Wine Research institute.

Seguin Moreau General Manager – Sales and Marketing Australia & New Zealand, Graeme Little is proud to align Seguin Moreau with the ASVO “This scholarship gives than opportunity to a young winemaker to pursue an experience that without the help of the ASVO & Seguin Moreau would not be realised. Everyone needs opportunities and I see this scholarship as a chance for someone to further their education and follow their passion.“

Finalist will be unveiled in October, with winners announced during an award presentation evening at Carrick Hill on Thursday 19th November.

The awards are in five categories:

ASVO Viticulturist of the Year Award – sponsored by Bayer CropScience

ASVO Winemaker of the Year Award – sponsored by ASVO

ASVO Best Viticultural Paper of the Year Award – sponsored by Wine Australia

ASVO Best Oenology Paper of the Year Award – sponsored by Wine Australia

ASVO AWAC Scholarship – sponsored by Seguin Moreau

Key Dates:
Nominations Close: Friday 25th September 2015 5pm CST
Awards dinner: Thursday 19th November 2015

2014 Winners:

Jason Smith – Best Viticultural Paper (National Wine and Grape Industry Centre)
Sue Bell – Winemaker of the Year (Bellwether Wine)
Richard Gawel – Best Oenology Paper (Australian Wine Research Institute)
Matthew Bailey – Viticulturist of the Year (Taltarni Vineyards)


Nomination forms are available at

For more information contact Chris Waters, 0488 488 416

Earlier Event: September 25
Tempranillo Masterclass
Later Event: September 30
Vasse Felix Dinner with Virginia Willcock